Artists       Industry       Videos       Trivia       Sign in
Press Esc to close
Press Esc to close
Press Esc to close

The Casualties Biography

| Genre Rank | Fan Digs |
37 0
Home Bio Videos Albums Fanfare
The Casualties
Video Stream

The Casualties Biography

The Casualties are an American street punk band which was formed in New York City in 1990. It was formed by vocalist Jorge Herrera, Hank (guitar), Colin Wolf (vocals), Mark Yoshitomi (bass) and Yureesh Hooker (drums). Hank's last name of several is unknown. Jorge Herrera is the only remaining member of the originals. During the early years of the band, the members were very fluid.


Early years

The Casualties were formed in 1990, with original members Jorge Herrera (vocals) Hank (guitar), Colin Wolf (vocals), Mark Yoshitomi (bass) and Yureesh Hooker (drums). The members aimed to return to what they viewed as the "golden era" of street punk, embodied by bands such as The Exploited and Charged GBH which they believed had disappeared by 1985. During the early years, the lineup was fluid, with several changes. That first year, Colin stepped out for several months to finish his education while Rachel, '''TheRivits' singer, took his place.

In 1991, Hank left the band, to be replaced by Fred (last name unknown) on guitar. Colin, Jorge, Yureesh, Hank and Mark put together a demo, titled Political Sin, for the Benefit for Beer compilation. After making this recording, Fred left to go to school and Steve, from Distraught, fills in for a short time, until Fred returns to the band full-time. The 4 song EP, 40 Oz. Casualty was recorded at the end of 1991, and self-released. 1992 saw the band touring and building up a fan base in NYC. In 1993, Mark and Fred left the band and were replaced by Mike (last name unknown) on bass and Jake Kolatis on the guitar, followed by the departure of Yureesh and Colin in 1994, to be replaced on drums by Shawn, while the band went down to a single vocalist. 1994 sees the recording of the 4 song EP, Drinking Is Our Way Of Life, however it would not be released. The songs would later appear on the Casualties "early years 1990-1995" CD in 1999. In 1995, the band's second release, the 4 track ''A Fuckin' Way Of Life E.P. was released on Eyeball Records. After recording A Fuckin' Way of Life, Shawn left the band, and Marc Eggers (nicknamed Meggers) of the Rivits became the regular drummer. The line-up of Jorge, Jake, Mike and Meggers continued until 1997.

In 1996 the Casualties became the first American band to appear at the "Holidays in the Sun" Festival in London. 1997 saw the release of the band's debut album, For the Pun is released on Tribal War Records, and the band embarks on its first American tour with The Varukers. Mike (the bassist) left the band in 1998, to be replaced with Johnny Rosado, from The Krays. They released their second LP that year, Underground Army, and begin a world tour. Jon leaves the band during the European leg of the tour, to be temporarily replaced by Dave Punk Core.

Present lineup

After the world tour, Dave would be replaced by Rick Lopez from the band, Manix. The line-up was now solidified for the band, and would continue to the present day. The end of the millennia, 1999, saw the band produce a compilation album, Early Years 1990-1995, which included tracks which appeared on earlier ED's, as well as never before released songs, such as the four songs they had recorded on the never released EP Drinking is Our Way of Life back in 1994.

The 2000s have seen the band to continue to tour and produce albums (an album list can be seen below). They have toured with several other bands, such as The Exploited GBH, Cockney Rejects Slaughter & the Dogs, and the English Dogs. In December 2009, The Casualties toured alongside Hatebreed, The Acacia Strain, Crowbar, and Thy Will Be Done as part of the Stillborn Fest. In the summer of 2012, The Casualties co-headlined the Tonight We Unite tour along with Nekromantix, where they played For The Punx in its entirety, the first time they had played the album through since its release in 1997. Later that year, The Casualties released their new album titled Resistance through Season of Mist. In 2013, The Casualties played at the largest punk rock festival in the world, the Rebellion Festival in Blackpool, England, where they shared the stage with The Exploited, Special Duties, Chron Gen and Anti-Establishment, and others.


Current lineup

  • Jorge Herrera - lead vocals (1990�present)
  • Rick Lopez - vocals, bass (1998�present)
  • Jake Kolatis - vocals, guitar (1993�present)
  • Marc "Meggers" Eggers - drums (1995�present)
  • Past lineup

  • Colin Wolf - vocals (1990-1994)
  • Hank - guitar (1990-1991)
  • Fred - guitar (1991-1993)
  • Mark Yoshitomi - bass (1990-1993)
  • Mike - bass (1993-1997)
  • Johnny Kray - bass (1997-1998)
  • Yureesh Hooker - drums (1990-1994)
  • Shawn - drums (1994-1995)
  • Discography

    Studio albums

  • 1997: For the Punx
  • 1998: Underground Army
  • 2000: Stay Out of Order
  • 2001: Die Hards
  • 2004: On the Front Line
  • 2005: En la L�nea del Frente
  • 2006: Under Attack
  • 2009: We Are All We Have
  • 2012: Resistance
  • Compilation albums

  • 2001: The Early Years: 1990�1995
  • 2010: For the Casualties Army
  • Live albums

  • 1999: Live at the Fireside Bowl
  • 2003: More at the Fireside Bowl
  • 2007: Made in NYC
  • Extended plays

  • 1992: 40 Oz. Casualty
  • 1995: ''A Fuckin' Way of Life
  • 2000: ''Who's in Control?
  • Appearances on various artists compilations

  • 1990: Benefit for Beer - "Political Sin"
  • 1994 Pogo Attack LP - "25 Years To Late" - "For The Punx"
  • 2001 Warped Tour 2001 - "Fight For Your Life"
  • 2003 The Sound of Rebellion - "Killing Machine" - "Politicians" - "No Rules"
  • 2003: Punx Unite - "Punx Unite"
  • 2003: Warped Tour 2003 - "Made in N.Y.C."
  • 2005: Punx Unite 2 - "Way of Life"
  • 2004: AMP Magazine Presents: Volume 2-Street Punk - "Sounds From the Streets"
  • 2004: Warped Tour 2004 - "Tomorrow Belongs To Us"
  • 2005: Punx Unite-Leaders of Today - "Rebel"
  • 2006: Warped Tour 2006 - "Under Attack"
  • 2007: Warped Tour 2007 - "In It For Life"
  • 2007: Take Action Tour 2007 - "VIP"
  • 2010: Warped Tour 2010 - "We Are All We Have"
  • Music videos

  • 1998: Live At NewCastle Riverside
  • 1998: Underground Army World Tour
  • 2000: Nightmare
  • 2001: Get Off My Back
  • 2004: Tomorrow Belongs To Us
  • 2006: ''Can't Stop Us
  • 2006: On City Streets
  • 2009: War Is Business
  • 2009: We Are All We Have
  • 2013: My Blood. My Life. Always Forward
  • The Casualties Biography Citations

    This article is licensed under the GNU License
    Click here for original article: The Casualties

    Similar Music Genres
    Electronic Music
    Armin van Buuren, China Dolls, 2012, Leonid, Silk, Gemini
    Pop Music
    Girls Aloud, Boomer, Bruno Mars, S Club Juniors, Joe Jonas, Justin Timberlake
    Rock Music
    Avril Lavigne, Noun, My Chemical Romance, Mumm-Ra, Across the Universe, Kelly Clarkson

    Home  |  About Us  |  Privacy  |  FAQs  |  Terms and Conditions
    Copyright 2015, iCubator Labs, LLC, All Rights Reserved.